People in East Belgium

The population of east Belgium sees itself as living in the European core area with carefree access to four different countries (Belgium, Germany, the Netherlands and Luxembourg). They identify themselves with the German or the French language; through media and daily contacts, they hold a close relationship to the German culture and/or the Roman area.

People speaking German are, in general, loyal Belgians and very devoted to the monarchy.  They feel that they are sufficiently represented within the government, since German has been recognized as one of the three official and legislative languages. The political autonomy of the German language community has significantly supported the fact that the German language population also sees itself as a valued component of the Belgian state. The transition since 1920 has been easier for the French-speaking people of the canton of Malmedy.
 


In the last few years, the population has increased, particularly in the North. The main reason is the migratory movement between the Federal Republic of Germany and Belgium. More and more German citizens settle in the neighboring kingdom of Belgium, since real estate prices here are significantly lower and they can also profit from tax advantages.  The community of Raeren, for example, currently shows approximately 45% German inhabitants, the community of Kelmis approximately 30%.

From a linguistic point of view, German citizens have no integration problems since it is the native language of most East Belgians. The linguistic diversity in east Belgium is strongly supported because of the proximity of the French language communities, the border, and the significance of the French and Dutch language in Belgium. Most East Belgians speak three, sometimes even four languages (German, French, Dutch, and English).

Population density

On January 1, 2006, East Belgium counted exactly 91,676 inhabitants (87.28 inhabitants/km2). However, the population density in the canton of Eupen (north), canton Malmedy (south) and canton St. Vith (south) is very different:

- Canton Eupen: 43,806 inhabitants – 194.86 inhab./km2
- Canton Malmedy: 18.557 inhabitants – 94.25 inhab./km2
- Canton St. Vith: 29.313 inhabitants – 46.6 inhab./km2
 
The demographic North-South-divide becomes particularly obvious when comparing the northernmost and southernmost communities:

-    The most densely populated community of the total area is Kelmis (573.73 inhab./km2)
-    The community with the lowest population density is Burg Reuland (35.82 inhab./km2)

East Belgium constitutes 3.44% of Belgium’s total area and is home to 0.87% of its population.



For comparison: the rate of population density is 344.32 for Belgium, 203 for Walloon, and 450 for Flanders. The Brussels region is an exception, since it is an urban center: 6,312.
 
At 49.51%, men constitute a slightly lower rate of East Belgium’s overall population. With 50.49%, women are the majority (in comparison: Belgium – men: 48.94%, women: 51.06%). However, in the last few years, this rate has shifted to the benefit of men.

Source: INS/WSR/ABEO

< go back

Les hommes de la Belgique de l’Est

Les habitants de la Belgique de l’Est vivent dans une région centrale européenne possédant un accès facile à quatre pays différents (B, A, PB et L). Ils s’identifient par la langue allemande ou la langue française; ils ont grâce aux médias et aux contacts quotidiens un rapport étroit à l’espace culturel allemand ou/et la région romane.

Les germanophones sont des belges loyaux, en général dévoués à la monarchie; ils se sentent respectés par l’Etat depuis que l’allemand est reconnu comme l’une des trois langues officielles et langues rédactionnelles. L’autonomie politique en tant que communauté germanophone a considérablement contribué à ce que la population germanophone se considère comme une composante intégrale de l’Etat belge. Pour les francophones du canton de Malmedy, ce changement fut plus facile à partir de 1920.
 


Au cours des dernières années, la population a fortement augmenté, principalement au nord. La raison se situe principalement dans le mouvement migratoire entre la République fédérale d'Allemagne et la Belgique: de plus en plus de citoyens allemands s’expatrient dans le Royaume de Belgique voisin car les prix de l’immobilier y sont largement plus faibles et ils y profitent en outre également d’avantages fiscaux considérables. Ainsi, la commune de Raeren compte actuellement environ 45 % d’habitants allemands et la commune de La Calamine (Kelmis en allemand) environ 30 %.

Sur le plan linguistique, les citoyens germanophones n’ont aucun problème d’intégration car la langue maternelle de la plupart des belges de l’Est, comme évoqué déjà plusieurs fois, est l’allemand. La multiplicité linguistique en Belgique de l’Est est en raison de la proximité de communes francophones, de la proximité des frontières et de l’importance de la langue française et de la langue néerlandaise en Belgique fortement encouragée: La plupart des belges de l’Est parlent trois, voir pour la plupart quatre langues (allemand, français, néerlandais et anglais).

Densité de population

Au 1 janvier 2006, la Belgique de l’Est compte précisément 91676 habitants (87,28 hab./km2). Toutefois, les densités de population dans le canton d’Eupen (nord), dans le canton de Malmedy (sud) et dans le canton de St. Vith (sud) sont très différentes:

- Canton d’Eupen: 43806 habitants – 194,86 hab./km2
- Canton de Malmedy: 18557 habitants – 94,25 hab./km2
- Canton de St. Vith: 29313 habitants – 46,6 hab./km2
 
La différence démographique nord/sud est particulièrement claire lorsque l’on compare la commune située la plus au nord et la commune située la plus au sud:

- La commune la plus densément peuplée de l’ensemble du territoire est La Calamine
(573,73 hab./km2)
- La commune avec la densité de population de population la plus faible est Burg-Reuland
(35,82 hab./km2)

La Belgique de l’Est représente 3,44 % de la surface de la Belgique et héberge 0,87 % de sa population.


En comparaison: Le quotient de densité de population s’élève à 344,32 pour la Belgique, pour la Wallonie à 203 et pour les Flandres à 450. La région bruxelloise a une position d’exception car il s’agit en effet principalement d’une zone de concentration urbaine: 6.312.
 
Les hommes représentent avec 49,51 % une part légèrement plus faible de l’ensemble de la population de la Belgique de l’Est, les femmes avec 50,49 % la majorité (cf. Belgique: hommes: 48,94 %, femmes 51,06 %). Toutefois, un changement a eu lieu ces dernières années au profit des hommes.

Source: INS/WSR/ABEO

< page pécédente